Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Color temperature vs. white balance - are they the same?

Re: Color temperature vs. white balance - are they the same?

you are a big help Colin. ty for all the advice and input!!loren

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by loren View Post
    you are a big help Colin. ty for all the advice and input!!loren
    No worries - I'll look forward to seeing some of your shots!

hi colin, i have a dilemma. since this is my first time shooting raw and jpeg format,i uploaded the pix onto my pc and now i cannot open the raw files. the jpegs will open though. they are both there physically i just cant open them! when uploaded they are saved as jpeg and cr2,1 image of each. am i doing something wrong or did i not format them correctly?

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Loren,

Colin is catching his zzzz's at the moment (it's about 5am there).

Fear not, it is unlikely to be anything you have done wrong, just that as you've never done it before, so your computer (PC or Mac?) doesn't know which application to open them with.

If you haven't used it before, now is the time to find the CD that came with the camera and load up the Canon software, or download from Canon website.

I can't give anymore specific advice than that as I'm not a Canon man, someone else may, or Colin will in the morning (my GMT evening).

You could, as a temporary alternative, download and install the free Picasa 3 from Google, it can at least display and edit even my Fuji RAWs (surely less common than Canon cr2). I still find it useful as it lets you flick through RAWs and zoom in to check sharpness, etc. from the Windows file manager.

What PP software do you have currently?