Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Would welcome some feedback on some of my pictures.

Real Name
    Jean

Would welcome some feedback on some of my pictures.

Hope I have finally succeeded in uploading some photos. As a beginner, I am unsure what really makes a good picture and am hoping for any kind of constructive help. Thanks in advance. Jean
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 18th September 2011 at 11:44 AM. Reason: replace page urls with image location tags

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Would welcome some feedback on some of my pictures.

Hi Jean,

The most obvious thing that strikes me, with quite a few of your images (in your Scotland album), not just these, is that they are not level.

What PP software do you have? (then, if I know it, I can advise how)

I appreciate there isn't a traditional flat horizon to level with, but there are other things to judge by; in many of these, either buildings aren't vertical, or the reflection of say, a tree tip, isn't directly below the real thing. Let me know if that's as clear as mud and I'll expand upon it.

Your compositions and exposures, etc. are, in general fine, and don't worry about not taking them level, I can't either

Hope that helps,

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Jean, other than the horizon not being level as Dave points out, these are great! I particularly like the light shaft in # 1 falling behind the castle and the tremendous sense of depth in # 2 & 3. Great capture!

Real Name
    John Wright

The first one is very 'haunting' and the other two are attractive too and as a beginner (I'm not that much ahead of you) it's good to see you getting down to take a photo - I assume the last one is a long(ish) exposure.

Real Name
    C H Tay

Agree with Dave and FrankMi, the photos are obviously not level though well taken. I like #2. The other 2 appear a bit "gloomy" to me. Keep up with the good work, folks.

Real Name
    Jean