Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Art Fair Conversation

Real Name
    John

Art Fair Conversation

I attended a local Music Is Art festival this weekend and happened to stop at a photography booth and the following conversation transpired as this local film photography instructor was doing a survey on camera brands. His partner or apprentice apparently teaches digital.

Instructor#1: Hello, you are obviously a photographer with the camera bag you are holding? Are you a professional?
    Me: I am a photographer and I am an amateur.
    Instructor #1: Digital? I'll bet you have a Nikon in there?
    Me: Actually I have two in there.
    Instructor #1: I knew it, doesn't any realize that there are more models (as he writes down the brand I have) than Canon and Nikon?
    Me: Actually I have an Olympus in here also.
    Instructor: No way, let me see what you have.
    Me: (I handed him my Olympus Pen EPL1).
    Instructor #1: Ohhhh, you've got one of those new models. How do you turn this thing on?
    Instructor #2: Wow, that's a nice camera, I like how comfortable this feels and the lens is very lightweight.
    Instructor #1: Where's the viewfinder?
    Me: It doesn't have one, you use the LCD.
    Instructor #1: I don't like these new cameras (as he writes down my model), I need the feel of the camera on my face.

Just a short summary of the conversation. So next time you are out taking photographs, check out the gear of the person next to you and find out how they feel about technology, brands, etc.

Real Name
    George Montgomery

Re: Art Fair Conversation