Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First Time for Everything

Real Name
    Terry

First Time for Everything

Recently I decided I might like exploring the World of the Miniature!

After receipt of a dedicated lens, and a little (obviously not enough) study, I made the usual foray out into the yard to see what I could come up with.

This is one from the first batch. Looks like I have a ways to go but I can see a lot of potential for learning more about several different aspects.

So in light of that, I would like to respectfully submit this for comment.

It is greatly appreciated.

Purple Clematis
    First Time for Everything

Shutter: 1/125
    f/25
    ISO: 100
    On camera speedlight with overhead bounce reflector fired.

Real Name
    Tommy

Re: First Time for Everything

Hey Terry, I'm no expert in macro photography but this looks pretty damn good to me! It's very sharp and the colours are beautifully vibrant.

I'm just wondering whether it may have looked better if you'd had a pure black background without that fade to brown towards the bottom. Maybe something to consider for next time?

Considerign it's from the 'first batch' I think you should be very pleased with yourself

Real Name
    Bobo

I would be VERY pleased to start off in this way.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Quote Originally Posted by Loose Canon View Post
    Looks like I have a ways to go but I can see a lot of potential for learning more about several different aspects.
    Terry

What's your own crit of this? You say you have a way to go, but that there's potential. So what is about this one that, in your view, you can learn from?

Real Name
    Terry

Tommy, Bobo, thank you both very much.

A very good question Donald, and one I am glad you asked. And since you did (and hope you don't regret it!) it gives me a chance to better explain.