Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Alternatives to Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L

Real Name
    António Correia

Alternatives to Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L

I would like to buy one of these toys. However they seem too expensive.
    Any decent alternative, if you please ?
    Thank you

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Alternatives to Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L

What for Antonio?

The perspective correction?
    Or the ability to position the focus plane where needed?

Clearly the first can be done in CS5 (with a bit of quality loss no doubt) if you have a wide enough shot or panorama.

I have no experience, but looking at how they have to be used - on a tripod - it doesn't suit me at all., so I can't ever see me buying one, even though it would be nice to skew the focus plane on occasions.

Hopefully someone sensible will come along and give you a better answer

Real Name
    António Correia

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Humphries View Post
    What for Antonio?

The perspective correction?
    Or the ability to position the focus plane where needed?

Clearly the first can be done in CS5 (with a bit of quality loss no doubt) if you have a wide enough shot or panorama.

I have no experience, but looking at how they have to be used - on a tripod - it doesn't suit me at all., so I can't ever see me buying one, even though it would be nice to skew the focus plane on occasions.

Hopefully someone sensible will come along and give you a better answer
    I agree with you and I already knew about what you mentioned
    However, last saturday I have seen a great image with one of these lenses and it was not with a 16mm and CS5 corrected. It couldn't be.
    Tomorrow morning I will be meeting a French guy who lives in Setubal or nearby - I never met him before - and will talk about the use of this lens.
    The use of the tripod is a bore/drag indeed but that depends on the results. It is not a toy to travel with. It is a time consuming lens so to say

Thank you for your comment