Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Senior

Real Name
    Svetlana

Senior

This is my first time taking Senior picture i know is not perfect i have Canon EOS Rebel, still learning. I didn't do any correction in photoshop.

Senior

Senior

Real Name
    Peter

Re: Senior

Svetlana - with the first shot the lighting is very uneven. You have bits of shade dappled with light.

Next time perhaps try going for an even shade - the second one is much better in this regard

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Svetlana

If you want to get into portraiture, you should study the series of lessons that Colin authored. Clink here to access them.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Svetlana,

Donald's advice regarding Colin's portraiture series is well worth following up.

On looking at these two; the most obvious problems are the backgrounds, you need to train your eye, when looking around the viewfinder of your Rebel (before pressing the shutter), to see what else is there and if it doesn't contribute to the image, get rid of it somehow. That could be as simple as moving the camera slightly left or right, moving to a different position entirely, throwing it out of focus by use of a wider aperture, or dealing with it in post processing (PP) - you will need to shoot RAW and do PP if you want the highest quality results.

From what I have seen of Senior pictures (its not something we do in UK), they should be about the person, so don't have anything else in shot that distracts attention from the subject and make sure the subject is large enough in the frame.

So first off, have a go at assessing what's wrong with these yourself (be critical), and if you like tell us, so we can pick up on anything you missed.

Then have another go, using the advice here and above, perhaps with someone else as a subject if necessary, and post the results and we can go from there.

Good luck,

Real Name
    Svetlana

Thanks Donald, i will defently will go thru them. There is so much info.