Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: How weather proof are entry level dSLR's/how to combat their inadequacies?

How weather proof are entry level dSLR's/how to combat their inadequacies?

Hi Guys,

Just another quick question... I'm just wondering if someone could tell me how to protect my EOS 450d... Here's the situation - I'm a service engineer working in IT. I'm quite often on the road (for work) and often see things I'd like to snap, however I'm scared to take my camera with me in the car as I've heard moisture and heat can damage lenses.

Can someone tell me if either it is true or if it is - is there is a way to combat this (eg. by the way of using a weatherproof case)?

Also, how would I take shots in the rain? I've seen some weatherproof covers on eBay for cameras (which also cover the lens), but what works best? Is it safe or is it best to wait until I purchase something a bit more weatherproof? I've heard the 5D's can be pretty much used in the rain without any problem (although my funds don't permit purchasing one of these at the moment).

Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Dan

Re: How weather proof are entry level dSLR's/how to combat their inadequacies?

no idea about canon but I have took my Nikon D50 w 17-55mm out in light rain before. No problems.

as an emergency rain cover, I have poked a hole (for the lens) in a plastic bag and use that to cover the camera before.

You can also get rain cover made by Kata.

for field reports, see
    http://www.luminous-landscape.com/es...7-worked.shtml

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/es...9-worked.shtml

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by dan88 View Post
    I'm quite often on the road (for work) and often see things I'd like to snap, however I'm scared to take my camera with me in the car as I've heard moisture and heat can damage lenses.

Can someone tell me if it is true?