Just add 'MacKenzie'

In conversation with .... Yan Zhang

©Image, Steve (Wirefox)

In conversation with... Yan Zhang

CiC: Thanks very much for agreeing to be involved in this interview

My pleasure.

Perhaps we can start by you telling us something about your general back-ground. What about your work history - anything interesting?

Well, I am a computer scientist and have been working in university in last 16 years. When I was young, I always felt that art was something in my heart, but I didn't know how to approach this subject. At age of 36 (1999), I started to learn piano (at the same time as my twin daughters), I practiced 11 years piano and passed grade 7 exam a few years ago.

And what about your family life?

I have a happy family life. My wife was my university classmate, and we have married for 22 years. We have two twin girls. They are 18 years old and will have university exam by the end of this year.

If you were staying in tonight, what would you choose as one of your favourite books and/or films to keep you entertained, and what you be having as a favourite meal?

Good question! I will continue reading my favourite book "History of Australia and New Zealand" by Alexander and George Sutherland - this book is with me all the time. I love history and also love Australia and New Zealand. So I enjoying reading the history of these two countries.

I always said to people that I am 80% vegetarian, but I found it was very difficult to keep this 80%. If possible, tonight I would have a lamb shank as my main meal (as an exception) and plus a glass of red wine.

EDITOR'S PICK #1

OK, photography is a given, but what about other hobbies or personal interests?

I like music, especially classic music. As I mentioned just now, I practiced piano for 11 years, from age 36. But I stopped practicing couple of years ago, as I felt my hands were not flexible enough to play some advanced pieces.