Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Aperture 3

Real Name
    Trevor Reeves

Aperture 3

I am debating using Aperture 3 for processing my images rather than Elements 9. My Mac's hard drive failed so I had to scrub the entire computer memory when I got the new hard drive. Since I need a new image processing program I am wondering if anyone has any experience or opinions on Aperture versus Elements 9.

Re: Aperture 3

Trevor,
    I've been using Aperture 3 for a few months. What kind of Mac do you have? There are some issues with performance with some of the Mac machines. It can be really slow on the MacBook Pros, but it seems to be hit or miss. If you have an opportunity to go to an Apple store and play with the application some and talk to someone at the Apple store about some of the known issues - it may be helpful. Overall, I like the application. I'm running it on a MacBookPro and have some issues, but plan on upgrading my machine soon :-)
    Hope this helps!
    frankie

Real Name
    Trevor Reeves

Thanks Frankie
    It will be running on an iMac with 2.66GHz Intel duo processors and 3GB RAM running 10.6.8. I suspect the program may need 4GB RAM so this may present a problem. Unfortunately the nearest Apple store is 600km away (6 hours by road) so playing is not an option. May have to buy and see. providing the RAM will not be too much of an issue

Quote Originally Posted by tbob View Post
    Thanks Frankie
    It will be running on an iMac with 2.66GHz Intel duo processors and 3GB RAM running 10.6.8. I suspect the program may need 4GB RAM so this may present a problem. Unfortunately the nearest Apple store is 600km away (6 hours by road) so playing is not an option. May have to buy and see. providing the RAM will not be too much of an issue
    RAM is fairly cheap these days, so you may want to upgrade to the limit... just to be safe. :-)

Real Name
    Trevor Reeves