Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Back to Film

Real Name
    Tobias Weber

Back to Film

Hello all

For my studies next year I need an old film camera, I got two cameras yesterday, a really ancient Praktica and a Canon 500, they still take great pictures but this is my first time using Film and I was just wondering if anyone here still uses film and could give me some pointers on how to ensure that I get great pictures and maybe also what films are the best to use.

Thanks

Real Name
    Nick

Re: Back to Film

Hello Tobias,
    With knowing so little of your situation it's hard to be specific. So just some hints for now.
    Check your film camera's for light leaks – especially around the film door (camera back). Most film doors use a black plastic foam material for light sealing. This decomposes over time. The things to look out for are “give” or movement of the film door when shut. The plastic also go's sticky as it decomposes – then dries out to a powder. At that stage the door shows movement when shut. Kits to replace the seals can be purchased and some folks do the replacement themselves. If you have to do this repair be careful to keep any black bits out of the shutter mechanism.
    Within the context of you studies / course work / local availability – try and find the cheapest film / print method you can. Chinese B&W film, out of date colour print film, whatever. Anything that will allow you to burn lots of film and take loads of pictures.

Have fun,

Regards,

Nick.

Real Name
    Tobias Weber

Thanks for the info Nick

I know for sure that the Canon has no light leaks so that's all fine, the other camera I'm not so sure about, seeing as its from 1975, but if it does have some leaks maybe it'l make for some interesting shots, but I'l see how the first roll of film comes out.

Real Name
    John