Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Suggestions re Crime Scene Photos Please

Real Name
    Dave

Suggestions re Crime Scene Photos Please

I am a police officer and do some evidence photography work. Recently I had to photograph a footwear impression on a door. (A suspect kicked in a door leaving a faint impression of his shoe). I was using a Canon XTi. I set the camera on "P" - program mode. I used 100 ISO, tried different white balance settings between daylight and cloudy, and also used both spot metering and partial metering.

Most of my photos came out too light even though I tried to shade the image from the sun. I used no flash but did light the image obliquely using a flashlight, from various angles. The "point" light source may have been too bright even though I dimmed the light and moved the light away from the image. (I also used a tripod).

Any other suggestions to "darken" the faint image in a bright environment? Should I have set the camera to aperture mode and tried a higher fstop to let in less light? Are there any lighting "tricks" to pull off this type of shot.

Thanks in advance to all who respond. This is a terrific site. I appreciate the education it provides.

Dave

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: Suggestions re Crime Scene Photos Please

You could try lifting the impression using a gel or tape lifters then shoot it on an ultraviolet light, Dave. I think the ultraviolet light still has to be set obliquely to record the impression. From what I saw in the crime scene TV programs, they use a small aperture (for sharper images) and set at a low ISO then they drag the shutter for an exposure of about 2 - 3 seconds. Since the shot would be reversed in ultraviolet light, the impression would become lighter thus giving a clearer image of the impression. I must have watched too many CSI programs to remember this. Hahaha!

Real Name
    Malcolm