Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikon Lens Recommendations Sought

Nikon Lens Recommendations Sought

hi iam drlalitha from india,i bought my nikon D40 with 18-55/f 3.5-5.6 kit lens,iam looking forward to expand my photography world,i do understand the limitations of d40,Dx format and lack of in body motor,but that dint deter me ,i was influenced by kenrockwell site,so went for this best bang for the buck cam,..now..,i would like to know the best lenses in wideangle,tele,macro,prime larger aperture..

my considerations :

WIDEANGLE : SIGMA 10-20/F3.5 orF4-5.6 HSM VS NIKON 12-24/F4 VS TOKINA 10-24
    TELE : SIGMA 70-300/ APO DG HSM VS NIKON 70-300/2.8 VR VS NIKON 70-300/3.5-5.6
    MACRO : 150MM/2.8 SIGMA
    PRIME :NIKON 50mm/1.8D VS NIKON 35/1.8G

Please help me regarding the best in the above categories.

I am a novice and like to shoot macro, landscapes, portraits and mostly bird photography when feasible...
    Last edited by McQ; 23rd March 2009 at 05:29 PM. Reason: no shouting please :)

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Introduce Yourself & Welcome Other Members (2)

Hi drlalitha,

As I don't own a DSLR myself, I cannot advise on choice of lenses, so I'll leave that to those that can.

However, one thing I picked up on recently is that I gather Canon and Nikon focus to infinity in opposite directions. Not sure about zoom in/out either. If you go third party (i.e. not Nikon), you might want to check that they focus and zoom the way you are used to with the kit lens. If not, I would imagine trying to do a quick focus tweak or zoom in and going the wrong way could become a constant source of annoyance.

Or I may be wrong, I too would appreciate some feedback on this from those 'in the know'.
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 17th March 2009 at 07:53 AM.

Re: Introduce Yourself & Welcome Other Members (2)

Hi drlalitha,

Welcome to CiC, good to have you here .

On your TELE list