Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: New to this

New to this

Hello everyone,
    Its good to see so many experts with so many great advices, under the same roof. I have got some questions and would be highly pleased if anyone takes time out to answer them. Those are as follows:
    1. I have been taking photographs for quite some time with my canon (compact) camera. Recently I started studying some stuff and watched video tutorials about how we can play with some of the settings that we can alter if we have a dslr. So I want to buy a new DSLR. As a beginner what do you guys suggest should I be looking for (should be one of canon or nikon)? I like to take photos in low light, indoors, outdoors and sports too.
    2. I like the canon EOS 40d and the canon 450d. My price range falls around 400 dollars for the body. Here in my country , the second hand cameras are a bit expensive . Like the canon 40d is like $800. When I checked it on amazon and craiglist, in USA they were around $450. So is there any way in which I can buy a camera from the USA sitting here in Pakistan? If yes, how can I verify the condition of the second hand camera?

Now that I am learning a lot and also checking out other people's photography, I am raring to have a camera of my own. Thanking in anticipation.

Waqas

Real Name
    Pete

Re: New to this

Hi Waqas,

Here are some other posts that may be helpful:

Advice on new/secondhand camera
    Buying first DSLR camera
    Lenses on a budget

Here is another link you could look at for some more advice on buying used camera equipment. Here's another one.

I've bought a few used lenses and have been very lucky, but it is always a gamble unless you can test drive first. Just the nature of the beast I'm afraid with no guarantee attached.

Good luck with your choice and happy shooting

Real Name
    Frank Miller