Thread: What lenses would you recommend

What lenses would you recommend

hi everyone im new to this, i have recently brought a nikon d80, and im looking at the pictures on here and thinking wow what would i need to take pictures like this, as you probley guessed by this post that im a complete noob when it comes to taking pictures and what equipment i need, any help would be great thanks

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: What lenses would you recommend

Damien

One thing I would recommend is that you go to the 'Discussion Categories' tab on the menu bar at the top and then click on lenses. All the discussions that you'll then get listed will help you with this as well.

The first thing you need to answer is - What do I want to shoot?

Did you get a kit lens with the D80? If so, which one is it?

If you are looking for a second lens to add to a kit lens, which I think will be a zoom lens covering the 'middle ground' in focal length, your question is one of 'Do I want my next lens to be more wide angle than I've already got, or do I want it to be a longer telephoto?'

Once you've answered that question, then you can start doing more research into the specific lenses in that category.

The other thing you should do, now, is set your budget. And stick to it. It's very easy to get carried away and ending up buying something that you never intended to buy and which you can't afford. Setting your budget now will also help you when it comes to looking at what lenses you might realistically want to look at in more detail as you make up your short-list.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Just another thought, Damien.

You said you look at images on here and think, "wow what would i need to take pictures like this"

The answer to that question is not a new lens, although that will open up more options for you. The real answer, in my view, is:

• Practice, practice and more practice