Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikon D3000 and compatable lens question

Real Name
    Carrie

Nikon D3000 and compatable lens question

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner and was wondering if a Nikon Nikkor 70-300mm F4-F5.6G AF lens would be compatable with my Nikon D3000 camera. I'll be leaving for my honeymoon in Alaska in a few weeks and found this lens for sale. I was really hoping to aquire a lens that would capture the landscape from our cruise ship. Any thoughts/opinions would be much appreciated.

Thank you so much!!!

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Re: Nikon D3000 and compatable lens question

Hi Carrie, If it is one of the AF series, and not the AF-S, then it should work except for the Auto-Focus. Take a look at Ken Rockwell's Lens Compatibility Chart at http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/compatibility-lens.htm.

He also has a review of this lens at http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/70300af.htm.

Real Name
    Ron

You could also check Nikon official sites eg http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/lens/list.htm#zoom

I have a D3000 and G AF-S lenses are the ones that auto focus.This camera is designed to work with AF-S lenses for auto focus but if it is an AF lens (which you indicate) then it will be manual focus only. I would be wary of purchasing a manual focus only lens ... it is not so quick and easy to use. I made that mistake

Enjoy your honeymoon

Real Name
    Steve

I would strongly suggest that you get the VR version of the 70-300mm.
    It is pricier, but the lack of VR will frustrate you at the long end of that zoom.

The lens I refer to is the AF-S 70-300mm 1:4.5-5.6 G

If you must get the non VR, be certain to hug a tripod with it.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Carrie,

Welcome to the CiC forums from me, good to have another Nikon shooter along.

All the above advice is good.