Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Wide angle lens

Wide angle lens

Hi,

I'm new to this forum and photography and would really appreciate some guidance. Is the SONY ALPHA 200 with a 18 - 70 lens a wide angle lens and is it any good? Would it take decent architecture shots please?

Really appreciate your feedback and knowledge.

Thank you.

Emma

Real Name
    Tommy

Re: Wide angle lens

Hi Emma and welcome to CiC

Do you already have this camera? Or are you considering buying one? Do you have a budget in mind? That may help people to help you make the right decision.

Although I am not an expert in architectural photography, and although 18mm is reasonably wide, I have a feeling that you may want to go even wider. A lot of dramatic architectural photography that appeals to me is shot a lot wider, somewhere around the 10mm mark. I'm not saying that this is the case with all good architectural photos, I'm just saying that I like the ultra-wide angle shots.

I have the Sigma 10-20mm lens on my Nikon for architecture and landscape photos but, while it is good for those purposes, it's not really ideal for general use as it's too wide even at the long end (20mm). I have the 18-200mm for that.

So I guess it depends what you want to do. if you ONLY want the camera for architectural photography and nothing else then i'd say go wider. If you want to use the camera for other types of photography as well, such as portraits etc, then you may want to go for something with a bit more range (such as the 18-70mm that you mentioned).

There are a lot of helpful people on this forum with a lot more knowledge and experience than me so i'd wait to hear what they have to say on the matter before making any rash decisions

Cheers,

Tom

Real Name
    Bill S

Tom - do you really find your Sigma 10-20 good for architecture? I own that lens for my Canon and the barrel distortion on it is pretty significant at the 10mm end and still noticeable at the 20mm end.