Thread: New Canon 7D - any startup hints

Real Name
    Bud Ralston

New Canon 7D - any startup hints

Hi All:
    Just picked up my 7D after months of research. Do any of you 7D owners have any helpful hints (other than reading the manual)? I'm looking for what to do/what to avoid type suggestions. Any thoughts to get me going out of the box?

I'm waiting for a couple Sandisk Extreme Pro 16 GB cards from B&H coming this week to get started.

I have a few years experience with other DSLRs so I'm familiar with photography basics.

Many thanks.....

Real Name
    Al

Re: New Canon 7D - any startup hints

Hi, Bud, and congratulations on your new 7D! Forutunately, the 7D is a friendly beast with very few quirks or "gotchas"; if you're familiar with Canon DSLRs, you will feel right at home almost immediately. None of the suggestions I can think of are 7D-specific... just the usual stuff you should do with any new camera with comparable capability. Here's my list:

Register the camera with Canon, and check for a firmware update. If your 7D doesn't have the latest firmware version, you can download it from Canon. The update process is rather simple, and doesn't take long. Ask to be notified of future updates when you register the camera.

Buy a spare battery. Keep it charged, and keep it handy. (Like I said, not exactly specific to the 7D).

Make a list of all the items that are registered when you create the user mode settings, and think of how to use these to your advantage for the types of shooting you do most often. I know this is obvious, but every camera model has it's own list of "neat features" and "disappointments" where these possibilities are concerned (especially regarding possible control assignments). Same is true of the "My Menu" settings. Most likely, you'll want to make a few tweaks after a few days or weeks, but it's not too soon to make your first stab at it.