Thread: New camera and post processing - I need comments and advice please.

Real Name
    Nigel Holmes

New camera and post processing - I need comments and advice please.

Hi all, I've never done this before but there is a first time for everything so here goes. I've attached a picture from a few weeks ago from my first outing with my new 5D MKII and EF 24-105 F4 L IS USM - The 5D MKII is totally different to my old 40D and EFS 17-85 F4-5.6 IS USM when it comes to post processing so now I need some guidance. This picture was taken at a 1960s theme weekend and the girl dressed as a hippy was unaware of having her picture taken. I sharpened the picture and pulled in the levels a little in Canons digital photo pro before exporting to CS5 at 300 dpi . I then added a slight S shape using curves, then about +10 contrast, +20 Vibrance, flattened the layers, cropped a little from the top of the picture and then reduced the dpi to 96 (untick resample), resize to 700pxl on longest side, assign sRGB colour profile, unsharp mask, and save as JPG with image quality set at 10 and baseline standard.

What am I doing wrong, am I doing anything right? I am never quite happy with my finished pictures as they seem to lack real punch and zing like some of the pictures you guys and girls produce (eg Rob Marshall - stunning!).

Comments, criticism, help and advice very much appreciated. Rope ready, loft hatch open! :D

Cheers
    Nigel.

Before
    hippychick01.jpg

After
    hippychick02.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Squidgy; 16th July 2011 at 01:51 PM.

Real Name
    John

Re: New camera and post processing - I need comments and advice please.