Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Mini-Photoshoots? How much to charge?

Real Name
    Rachel

Mini-Photoshoots? How much to charge?

Hello, everyone! I'm in need of some advice.

I'm a pet photographer, and I've been asked to come to a dog event next month. They are giving me a space with a pretty, natural backdrop, and allowing me two tables. I had thought of framing and bringing several larger prints (11x14 and up) for display.

I plan to offer a mini-session to the attendees for a price. The problem is, I have no idea what to charge. My standard session is $150 for 1-2 hours, and the entry fee to the event is $10. This is an upscale facility that typically attracts upscale clientele, but this is the event's first year, so I can't be 100% sure that's the case this time.

How would you handle the mini-session? Would you base it on time? If so, how much? The idea in my head was 5-10 solid shots that I could provide to the client once fully retouched.

I am open to all ideas you may have!

Thank you in advance for sharing your expertise.
    -Rachel

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Mini-Photoshoots? How much to charge?

Rachel,

Could you do a google search on the prices local photographers charge for dog portraits.

Normally, at the dog shows that I've attended vendors actually charge a bit less for their products than those products cost at established brick and mortar businesses. Dog show attendees kind of expect this type of discount. In fact, we often wait for a dog show event to purchase our grooming supplies.

I am considering doing dog portrits for the annual American Maltese Association Specialty which will be held in San Diego next year. Only, in my case, I would donate profits to the American Maltese Rescue fund.