Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Rookie upgrading from film to a digital SLR...

Rookie upgrading from film to a digital SLR...

To say I am very new to photography is an understatement. I believe that most here are far more advanced than I, however, I need some experienced advice. I am saving for a canon digital rebel, however, during this learning curve I only have a Canon Rebel film camera (K2) and I recently wanted a zoom or telephoto lens in order to begin learning more than just shooting pictures of my kids. I know from reading other sites that my purchase on ebay was not the best but I did purchase a Quantaray auto zoom 80~200mm lens for just a few bucks to learn with. It wont fit my camera. My question is will an adapter work? I do know that a canon lens is better, but I would like to save that for a digital one day as I also understand that the film versions of the Rebel and Digital's do not have interchangeable lenses.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Rookie

Could you give us some more details about the lens, please? The model, mount - anything about it, really - would be useful.

Having said that, it is unlikely - if you need an adaptor to physically attach lens to body - that you will still get auto focus.

Real Name
    Elie

Welcome to the forums.

Adaptors are available for a variety of mounts.
    Post your lens details and I am sure someone will know how to guide you.

Ok... My suspicion is that the lens is made for FD cameras, which is not compatible with EOS mount because FD has a shorter flange to film register, hence the lens can't be focused correctly. For sure, you will lose focus at infinity. However, this is valid if and only if effectively you bought a lens for FD mount and you camera is EOS mount. You will have to give us more detail about this, as Keith Reeder said, specially about the lens.