Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Mousehole Harbour

Real Name
    Christopher Hotton

Mousehole Harbour

I have just spent a pleasant few days in Cornwall, staying in the Ship Inn on the harbour wall at Mousehole, a quaint and old fishing village west of Penzance and a very few miles from Landsend.

I have been coming to this part of the world for many years and continually try to improve on my work here. I would be interested in you views of this one, taken mid-morning with the tide at mid point.

Mousehole Harbour

Aperture f/5.6 Shutter Speed 1/400 ISO 100

Real Name
    Paul

Re: Mousehole Harbour

It's a nice image and reminds me of my last visit there ... a loong time ago. Composition is very pleasant but the only thing that 'lets it down' if you like is the lack of light. It's a little flat. Recommend earlier in the morning before breakfast or an hour or so before sunset - some low warm light on those buildings and boats would really kick this into life. Lovely place though that brings back happy memories.
    Sorry but you're going to have to go back and wait for the light ... if you can bear a few more days here

Real Name
    Graham

Christopher,

It is a nice piece of work. I like the composition the verticals are vertical and the horizon is horizontal, the exposure is good and it is in focus. I don't think ther is any more you could have done with it, as a document or a record of your visit.

As a picture I think it does need something more. You might get more out of the sky and reflections in the water, with a bit of burning and a brightness and contrast layer with a mask to isolate the sky, or a selective colour layer to darken the blues, or maybe even both. I like it.

The problem really is the light. It might make a really nice B&W image.
    Graham