Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MY very FIRST portrait attempt.

Real Name
    Shannon

MY very FIRST portrait attempt.

So, this is my first attempt at a portait. I think I am going to practice this more because I had a lot of fun doing it.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: MY very FIRST portrait attempt.

I think you did quite good on this shot, Shannon. Good focus on the subject, blurred background to separate the main subject from it. The pose was very manly, and the expression looks very natural. In short... awesome! One small nit is the almost borderline exposure on the left side on the white jacket. You almost lost the detail and texture there so that means you need to underexpose a little bit (probably - 2/3 EV) or increase the recovery slider on LR or ACR in photoshop. Seeing two of your work featuring human elements, I think this is a good type of photography for you. You have the intuition to shoot people when they are uninhibited. Good job.

Real Name
    Abhi

Great job, Shannon. I like the pose and the expression.

Real Name
    Wendy

Very nice Shannon, you have a good eye for portraits. If you have not done so already, check out Colin's Portrait Tutorials School of Portraiture - Links to Lessons 1 through 8. They are excellent and if you enjoy this type of photography I'm sure you will find them very helpful

Wendy

Real Name
    Shannon

Thanks Wendy, I am definitely going to check out the link.. I am slowly trying to make my way through all the tutorials

Real Name
    Shannon