Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: A Place to Rest (2nd HDR attempt)

Real Name
    Michael Farrand

A Place to Rest (2nd HDR attempt)

Well this is my second attempt at HDR and I think i'm starting to get the hang of it. My first attempt was very saturated. This is the Allegheny Cemetery in Lawrenceville PA. Any C&C on any part are welcome. Thanks

A Place to Rest (2nd HDR attempt)

Real Name
    Shannon

Re: A Place to Rest (2nd HDR attempt)

That's really cool Michael, just learned about HDR in school tonight. I don't know much about it but I really like this photo.

Real Name
    Dave Ellis

Hi Michael

I've been experimenting with HDR myself recently so I'm a beginner at it too. I see the main benefit from HDR as the ability to bring the image closer to what the eye sees with it's far superior dynamic range over a camera. I'm not overlay fussed by the extreme tone mapping effects used by some that look un-natural to me.

In your photo, I would have thought that HDR could be used to bring out the shadow details more (the tree and the gravestones). I dont know what your bracketed images were like and I don't know what HDR processing software was used but there is obviously a large difference in brightness in some areas of the image than in others and I think this could have been corrected with HDR.

I don't mean to be critical because I am a novice with this. Maybe I have the wrong approach ?

Cheers Dave

Real Name
    Michael Farrand

Quote Originally Posted by dje View Post
    Hi Michael

I've been experimenting with HDR myself recently so I'm a beginner at it too. I see the main benefit from HDR as the ability to bring the image closer to what the eye sees with it's far superior dynamic range over a camera. I'm not overlay fussed by the extreme tone mapping effects used by some that look un-natural to me.