Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Ducky Tulips

Ducky Tulips

It's my turn - the tulips are just starting to bloom, here. These are from the NYC Botanical Gardens, though, where the last of the tulips were just ending.

Okay, actually, this is a Primula auricula (did I get that right bill? Oh, that's a kind of funny typo - let me try again - Bill.) I don't know if it's a nice photo or if it's just that I can't very easily find this type and have been wanting to grow them for forever.

It really does help to click on them and view them in the light box.

Ducky Tulips

Alright, here are the tulips:

Ducky Tulips

Ducky Tulips

#4 in a Wirefoxian vein (but what else do we do when they're gorgeous and glowing in the sun like that?)

Ducky Tulips

Thanks!

Real Name
    Shannon

Re: Ducky Tulips

I can't offer critique because I am just beginning in photography. But I can say I LOVE the first one and especially the last one. I love how the flower stands out so much and how the petals almost look like paper. Everything is so clear. Excellent job!

Ducky Tulips
    That sounds like the Netherlands entry in the 1979 Eurovision Song Contest

Katy, I remember you talked about how you would like to produce images like photographs in lifestyle magazines. Well..the first three certainly qualify for that. All very well exposed and well composed. Never ceases to amaze me how far you have come in the last few months.

The last one of course is excellent. It is actually far better than mine because the light is more subtle and you have that varigated colouring in the petals. Very well photographed. Now...in your hurry to show us all this excellent stuff you forgot to clone out the whopping Harvey sized dust bunnies on the last image. I usually use the smear tool with a soft edged brush, opacity 65% rate 75%.

Quote Originally Posted by Shambhala View Post