Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Raw shooting - first attempt

Real Name
    Dora B

Raw shooting - first attempt

Hello CiC members,
    This is my first attempt with RAW format, and post editing with CPP(Canon Photo...)
    I read tutorials, treads, but finally I just moved the sliders
    Please criticize
    Thanks
    Dora

Real Name
    Peter

Re: Raw shooting - first attempt

Hi Dora and welcome to CiC,

As this is more about shooting and processing in RAW I willlimit my initial comments to that.

I have managed the exposure pretty well really but the imagelacks a little in the contrast and sharpening, which will bring out more detailin the flowers and allow them to stand out more against the background (whichis a little cluttered really).

I do not know CPP so cannot advise you on how to add contrasand sharpening in that program but others will have used it and I am sure willchime in.

rob marshall

Hi Dora, and welcome to CiC.

Did you mean Digital Photo Pro (DPP)? It's not a bad converter, but not quite as sophisticated as Photoshop. But many photographers find it pretty good.

About the shot - The Magnolias are nice flowers and they are well exposed. But the whole shot has a little too much detail. It's hard to isolate the flower(s) from everything else. I find it best to keep some background detail to provide context, but to try and minimize it as much as possible. You could have used f/4 instead of f/11. Try to avoid two subjects (flowers in this case) unless they are very close together, as the viewer is torn between the two.

ISO3200 is very high for a Rebel - try to get it lower.

Real Name
    Dora B

The Magnolias are nice flowers
    Thank you Bob and Peter - I agree, the magnolias are superb but my tree is in the backyard, surrounded by big trees, so I don't have to much light there(plus murky days for 2 weeks in a row).
    My little understanding of that famous exposure triangle pushed me to use ISO 3200 but yes, I agree is to high.